The Weight of Ink

The Weight of Ink

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, anemigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive"Aleph."Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must makein order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2017
ISBN: 9780544866676
Characteristics: text file, rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

multcolib_susannel Oct 15, 2018

When a secret cache of documents is discovered in an Elizabethan era house, Professor Helen Watt and her assistant, uncover an even greater mystery. Told in alternating chapters between present-day and 17th century England.

d
debrazinik
Aug 03, 2018

One of the most beautiful books I've ever read. 10 stars! A literary cut above, exceptionally written.

k
kjgteach
Jul 28, 2018

If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. The language is beautiful, rich and insightful, and the characters feel real. The story is complex, like a Dickens novel, and the details, the history, the philosophy are wonderfully woven in. I can say it entertained me, made me think, and opened my heart. I loved loved loved it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top