The Rise and Fall of the House of Caesar

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Author and historian Tom Holland returns to his roots in Roman history and the audience he cultivated with Rubicon --his masterful, witty, brilliantly researched popular history of the fall of the Roman republic--with Dynasty , a luridly fascinating history of the reign of the first five Roman emperors.

Dynasty continues Rubicon 's story, opening where that book ended: with the murder of Julius Caesar. This is the period of the first and perhaps greatest Roman Emperors and it's a colorful story of rule and ruination, running from the rise of Augustus through to the death of Nero. Holland's expansive history also has distinct shades of I Claudius , with five wonderfully vivid (and in three cases, thoroughly depraved) Emperors--Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, and Nero--featured, along with numerous fascinating secondary characters. Intrigue, murder, naked ambition and treachery, greed, gluttony, lust, incest, pageantry, decadence--the tale of these five Caesars continues to cast a mesmerizing spell across the millennia.
Publisher: New York : Doubleday, 2015
ISBN: 9780385537902
Characteristics: text file, rda
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Feb 10, 2017

Very entertaining - think a mix of "I, Claudius" and "The Sopranos!"


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top