The Illusionists

The Illusionists

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
In late 19th century London, artist's model Eliza puts her heart, and her life, on the line when she falls into the company of an enigmatic showman called Devil; Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with a penchant for magic and illusion; and the even more mysterious Jasper Button.
Publisher: New York, NY : The Overlook Press, 2014
New York : Overlook Press, 2014
ISBN: 9781468309904
1468309900
Branch Call Number: F THO

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Sep 17, 2014

Despite mutual antipathy, self-made men Devil Wix, an aspiring impresario, and Carlo Boldoni, a dwarf contortionist-turned-illusionist, join forces to turn London's run-down Palmyra theater into a destination for world-class stage magic. To this end, they recruit Heinrich Bayer, a Swiss craftsman specializing in lifelike automata, as well as Devil's childhood friend, artist Jasper Button. Into their orbit comes aspiring actress Eliza Dunlop, whose combination of intelligence, beauty, and feminist ideals proves life-changing for all parties involved. Leisurely paced and character-driven, this dramatic, highly atmospheric exploration of Victorian England's street grit and stage glamour may appeal to fans of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet or Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White. Historical Fiction September 2014 Newsletter.

ChristchurchLib Sep 17, 2014

Despite mutual antipathy, self-made men Devil Wix, an aspiring impresario, and Carlo Boldoni, a dwarf contortionist-turned-illusionist, join forces to turn London's run-down Palmyra theater into a destination for world-class stage magic. To this end, they recruit Heinrich Bayer, a Swiss craftsman specializing in lifelike automata, as well as Devil's childhood friend, artist Jasper Button. Into their orbit comes aspiring actress Eliza Dunlop, whose combination of intelligence, beauty, and feminist ideals proves life-changing for all parties involved. Leisurely paced and character-driven, this dramatic, highly atmospheric exploration of Victorian England's street grit and stage glamour may appeal to fans of Sarah Waters' Tipping the Velvet or Michel Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White. Historical Fiction September 2014 Newsletter.

a
aliciamarie
Jul 15, 2014

I really wanted to love this book. Liking it is a stretch. I found it hard to get into the characters which made it harder to get into the story.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top