Dollbaby

Dollbaby

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
After her father's unexpected death in 1964, Ibby Bell finds herself living at a New Orleans Garden District estate with her eccentric grandmother and her house staff including a sassy black cook named Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter Dollbaby.
Publisher: New York : Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, 2014
ISBN: 9780670014736
0670014737
Branch Call Number: F McN

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KATI Feb 07, 2017

Read this with a big glass of sweet tea. Perfect for fans of "The Help" or anyone needing a little extra Southern in their life.

c
CRAIGEEJ
Jul 13, 2015

Far Better than "The Help"a book the narrator didn't need to interview the maids about (as if she never heard her mama treating 'em like crap ...but fo real tho) the origins of DollBaby was a bit contrived for my taste but hey gotta have a gimmick right the missed opportunity for an interracial relationship coulda went either way but I'm glad it just glossed over it for friendship the story was all over the place at times but yet endearing and made one lose ones-self in a sweet time and place unless you were Black.

m
micro1039
Jun 27, 2015

Excellent read! You are taken back into a time that is a blending of the old and new South with traditions and philosophies. The ending truly took me by surprise!

g
genepy
Aug 19, 2014

This novel reminded me of "The Help" and was as excellent : a captivating story taking place in the 60-70's in New-Orleans with engaging characters, a well constructed plot , a poignant historical background . The reader is plunged into the atmosphere of the times : music, cultural traditions ( for ex you learn that you can trap evil spirits with blue glass bottles...) , typical food,
parties...dramatic but delightful.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top