Ten Second Staircase

Ten Second Staircase

eBook - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
It's a crime tailor-made for the Peculiar Crimes Unit: a controversial artist is murdered and displayed as part of her own outrageous installation. No suspects, no motive, no evidence-it's business as usual for the Unit's cantankerous founding partners, Arthur Bryant and John May. But this time they have an eyewitness. According to twelve-year-old Luke Tripp, the killer was a cape-clad highwayman atop a black stallion.

As implausible as the boy's story sounds, Bryant and May take it seriously when "The Highwayman" is spotted again, striking a dramatic pose at the scene of his next outlandish murder. Whatever the killer's real identity, he seems intent on killing off a string of minor celebrities while becoming one himself.

As the tabloids look to make a quick bundle on "Highwayman Fever," Bryant and May, along with the newest member of the Unit, May's agoraphobic granddaughter, April, find themselves sorting out a case involving an unlikely combination of artistic rivalries, sleazy sex affairs, the Knights Templars, and street gang feuds. To do it, they're going to have to use every orthodox-and unorthodox-means at their disposal, including myth, witchcraft, and the psychogeographic history of the city's "monsters," past and present.

And if one unsolvable crime weren't enough, this case has disturbing links to a decades-old killing spree that nearly destroyed the partnership of Bryant and May once before...and may again. The Peculiar Crimes Unit is one murder away from being closed down for good-and that murder could be their own.
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 2006
ISBN: 9780553902723
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
May 22, 2017

The unique characters of Bryant & May, the seemingly inevitable demise of the Peculiar Crimes Unit, the bizarre murders and the sinister fleeting sightings of the apparent murderer combine to grip the reader until the very end. One wonders just how much longer these ageing detectives can keep going but hopes they will just keep on keeping on.

Dec 06, 2016

(The fourth book in the Bryant and May series) Series
Bryant and May
1. Full Dark House (2003)
2. The Water Room (2004)
3. Seventy-Seven Clocks (2005)

5. White Corridor (2007)
6. The Victoria Vanishes (2008)
7. On the Loose (2009)
8. Off the Rails (2010)
9. The Memory of Blood (2011)
10. The Invisible Code (2012)
11. The Bleeding Heart (2014)
12. The Burning Man (2015)
13. Strange Tide (2016)
14. The Wild Chamber (2017)

19coco55 Dec 11, 2013

there is a site called
www.stopyourekillingme.com/ that has authors books in order and new releases, along with a newsletter twice a month.
I find it to be quite valuable.

Jul 13, 2012

Books in series need the series number to be shown in the Item Details. This info used to be provided in the old catalogue, and makes a huge difference when searching and reserving through an on-line catalogue when one can't see the whole list of books published by that author.

Nov 17, 2011

I was really interested in "The peculiar Crimes Unit" but I think I started reading this series in the wrong place. I need to go back and read some of the earlier stories before I can judge the mystery here. The mystery itself is very "peculiar" but the Unit was always distracted by politics and previous mysteries that stretched back into previous books.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top