Steal the North

Steal the North

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"A novel of love in all its forms: for the land, for family, and the once-in-a-lifetime kind that catches two people when they least expect it. Emmy is a shy, sheltered sixteen-year-old when her mom, Kate, sends her to eastern Washington to an aunt and uncle she never knew she had. Fifteen years earlier, Kate had abandoned her sister, Beth, when she fled her painful past and their fundamentalist church. And now, Beth believes Emmy's participation in a faith healing is her last hope for having a child. Emmy goes reluctantly, but before long she knows she has come home. She feels tied to the rugged landscape of coulees and scablands. And she meets Reuben, the Native American boy next door. In a part of the country where the age-old tensions of cowboys versus Indians still play out, theirs is the kind of magical, fraught love that can only survive with the passion and resilience of youth. Their story is mirrored by the generation before them, who fears that their mistakes are doomed to repeat themselves in Emmy and Reuben"--
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2014
ISBN: 9780670786183
0670786187
Branch Call Number: F Ber

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ValleyViewLibrarians Aug 15, 2014

Anyone who has ever had an intense, young first love will recognize themselves in this story of two teenagers who fall hard and fast for each other during a hot Eastern Washington summer. Local writer Bergstrom does a wonderful job painting the complex geological and cultural landscapes surrounding Omak and Moses Lake. Characters are very intense and veer toward the melodramatic at times, but the multiple narratives are highly compelling and bring depth to what might have been a straightforward young adult romance. Highly recommended for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kristina Riggle, and Amy Hatvany.

madison382 Jun 06, 2014

This book is about a girl sent by her mother to spend the summer with her sick aunt, the story is told by different characters, but the most poignant was that of her dad, as he explains the part he plays in his absence from his daughter's life. I really enjoyed this book and highly recommends it.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top