Cover of Snow

Cover of Snow

A Novel

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
"On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
"Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown. and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"--
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2013]
ISBN: 9780345534231
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
kckay
Nov 21, 2013

Police officer commits suicide. Wife tries to find out what really happened.

c
calvoer
Aug 03, 2013

Nora’s ideal husband, a cop, commits suicide while she sleeps. When I got to page 5 and encountered the phrase “maybe, just maybe,” as she searched for him, I knew I was in for a rough ride. My thought was, “Maybe, just maybe, I should find another book to read.”

Six pages later comes the template of the vicious, unsubtle mother-in-law in the stiff black dress—“Why do men commit suicide, Nora? Why, trouble at home, of course. With his marriage. His wife.” This, on the day of the funeral. Why do writers churn out such indigestible, unbelievable prose? Why, because it sells, I guess.

If you’re up for 326 pages of melodramatic overblown writing, stock characters, and unlikely plot developments, this is the book for you. The best part comes at the end, in the acknowledgements, a 4-page piece that sounds like Sally Field’s acceptance speech at the Oscars. At least that made me laugh.

BPLNextBestAdults May 03, 2013

A fast-paced, wintry debut novel finds Nora questioning why her seemingly-happy, police officer husband has committed suicide. Nora will not accept his suicide, even after his mother and co-workers ask her to let it be. As Nora begins to dig deeper into the past of her small, upstate New York town, she uncovers secrets about the town and her husband’s childhood.
This suspenseful first effort will appeal to readers who enjoy plot-driven thrillers. Milchman’s story not only explores the lasting effects of suicide, but also details the scrutiny an outsider faces in a small town. Fans of Sandra Brown, Catherine Coulter, Lisa Gardiner, and Iris Johansen will enjoy this new author’s compelling mystery. Written by PGH

ChristchurchLib Mar 11, 2013

"In the wake of her stalwart police officer husband's shattering suicide in their otherwise peaceful Adirondack village, house restorer Nora Hamilton notices strange inconsistencies in her husband's past and in the behaviors of his police force coworkers before stumbling on deadly local secrets." March 2013 Thrillers and Suspense newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=609367

MadReads Mar 05, 2013

A good premise but the story ended up convoluted, hard to follow and too implausible for my liking.

sablegirl Feb 15, 2013

A wonderful first novel for this author! Can say enough good things about this book. It kept me interested from start to finish and I couldn't put it down! The mystery was intriguing and very captivating. You were on the edge of your seat until finally learning what happened. I hope this author writes many more books and they are as good if not better than this one. You can really feel the emotions the main character goes through after her husband commits suicide. I HIGHLY recomment this book if you're looking for a great mystery.

Cdnbookworm Feb 14, 2013

Wow, great new thriller mystery by a new voice. I will definitely be looking for more from this writer.
The setting is the village of Wedeskyull in the Adirondacks in upper New York state. Nora moved to the village several years before when her husband decided to leave law school and join his hometown police force. As the book begins, Nora wakes up one morning to find her husband has committed suicide. It makes no sense to her, and she begins to ask questions. As she does she finds that she knows less about her husband than she thought, and that she didn't ask the questions of him that she should have. But there are those that don't want the truth to come out, and will do many things to prevent Nora from finding the truth.
With a story reaching back twenty-five years, this mystery looks at the past and how one incident can have so many impacts years later. It also asks the question of how much we really know about those we care about. Do we ask questions to learn more when we know the subjects are touchy ones. With twists and turns and interesting characters, this book will keep you wondering right until the end.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top