Double Feature

Double Feature

A Novel

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
An epic debut novel about a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film--from critically acclaimed short story writer Owen King--for readers of Joshua Ferris, Sam Lipsyte, and Chad Harbach.

SAM DOLAN is a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film. He has a difficult relationship with his father, B-movie actor Booth Dolan--a boisterous, opinionated, lying lothario whose screen legacy falls somewhere between cult hero and pathetic. Allie, Sam's dearly departed mother, was a woman whose only fault, in Sam's eyes, was her eternal affection for his father. Also included in the cast of indelible characters: a precocious, frequently violent half-sister; a conspiracy-theorist second wife; an Internet-famous roommate; a contractor who can't stop expanding his house; a happy-go-lucky college girlfriend and her husband, a retired Yankees catcher; the morose producer of a true-crime show; and a slouching indie-film legend. Not to mention a tragic sex monster.

Unraveling the tumultuous, decades-spanning story of the Dolan family's friends, lovers, and adversaries, Double Feature is about letting go of everything--regret, resentment, dignity, moving pictures, the dead--and taking it again from the top. Against the backdrop of indie filmmaking, college campus life, contemporary Brooklyn, and upstate New York, Owen King's epic debut novel combines propulsive storytelling with mordant wit and brims with a deep understanding of the trials of ambition and art, of relationships and life, and of our attempts to survive it all.
Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2013
Edition: 1st Scribner hardcover ed
ISBN: 9781451676891
1451676891
Branch Call Number: F Kin

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
JILLYJELLY
Apr 28, 2017

I gave up after 30 pages. Just couldn't get into it. Never seemed to go anywhere and the plotline wasn't interesting. To me.

kellnerm Jan 22, 2014

Steven King son

l
LouWSytsma
Apr 13, 2013

Double Feature is a true delight! Congrats to Owen King. I am left with the conclusion that he is a man wiser than his years. DF is a book filled with great characters, great life insights. It covers the spectrum of emotions and made me laugh outright at several passages. What more can one ask for in a book?

Think - The World According To Garp meets The Big Lebowski meets The Shawshank Redemption.

Did anyone figure out who Bea's boyfriend is? I inclined to think it's - GASP! - Tom.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at PPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top