Peter Paul Rubens, The Life of Achilles

Peter Paul Rubens, The Life of Achilles

Book - 2003
Rate this:
Peter Paul Rubens. The Life of Achilles highlights just one aspect of Rubens's extensive oeuvre, a series of eight tapestries representing significant episodes from the life of the Greek hero Achilles. The eight oil sketches Peter Paul Rubens (1577-1640) painted to serve as designs for these remarkable tapestries are among the most beautiful works he produced. The sketches were subsequently worked up by Rubens and his studio and finally used as examples for far larger tapestries. This lavishly illustrated book traces the process from sketch to tapestry and sheds new light on Rubens and his working methods. Book jacket.
Publisher: Rotterdam : Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen : NAi Publishers ; Madrid : Museo Nacional del Prado, c2003
ISBN: 9789056623272
Branch Call Number: Arts 759.9493 Lam


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at PPL

To Top